About EVC Sligo 2017

In 2015, Sligo County Council and Sligo Volunteer Centre were successful in a joint bid for the European Volunteering Capital designation from the European Volunteer Centre in Brussels, following on from Lisbon, Barcelona and London.

There were a number of factors as to why the jury selected Sligo over eight other international towns and cities. These include:

  1. Sligo Volunteer Centre was initiated by Sligo County Council 10 years ago this year, and continues to receive the support of Sligo County Council which shows a priority to have a local Volunteering Infrastructure.
  2. The presence of a Local Community Grants Scheme administered by Sligo County Council.
  3. The efforts of Sligo Volunteer Centre in reducing the barriers to volunteering in offering a Garda Vetting Service & providing clarity for people in receipt of benefits while volunteering.
  4. Sligo Volunteer Centres capacity building programmes with Volunteer Involving Organisations (VIO’s).
  5. The presence of Volunteer Recognition schemes like the annual Cathaoirleach Awards and a Volunteer Discount Card initiated by Sligo Volunteer Centre.

A Steering Committee was formed to develop the plans for the year. The EVC Steering Committee wants to take this opportunity to highlight Sligo as a centre of excellence for volunteering. We hope that you as volunteers and community organisations will all join us in working towards our aims and objectives across the year.

The EVC Sligo 2017 Steering Committee includes: 
Cathaoirleach Cllr. Hubery Keaney, Mayor of Sligo Cllr. Marie Casserly, Ciaran Hayes, Sligo County Council, Ciara Herity, Sligo Volunteer Centre, Dorothy Clarke, Sligo County Council, Margaret McConnell, Sligo County Council,  Maria Gallo, St. Angela’s College, MEP Marian Harkin,  Noelle Cawley, Failte Ireland, Stuart Garland, Volunteer Ireland.

Our key objectives for the year ahead include:

Encouraging Partnership

Valuing & Acknowledging Volunteering

Celebrating & Recognising Volunteering

Upcoming Events